Advice for the old me

It’s less than 2 weeks til my 31st birthday, which spins me out. My mum used to always tell me that the older you got, the faster life went by. I never really believed her – but hey, what do you know! She was right! It has also been nearly a year and a half since my diagnosis… and it has certainly been a roller coaster ride. I’m still standing though, and still smiling. It got me to thinking: if I could go back and talk to the 29 year old version of me that had just gotten diagnosed with RA and Fibro, and was scared shitless, what would I say?

I would tell the old me that although it feels like the end of the world, that it’s definitely not. Medication for RA has come such a long way, and there will be medication that can and will help you.

I would tell the old me to stay away from Dr. Google, and that searching Rheumatoid Arthritis in Google Images will show the worst possible scenario, and is not conducive to coming to terms with this news.

I would tell the old me to trust my rheumatologist, and to be wary of ‘healers’ who try to turn you against western medicine.

I would tell the old me that I have faced other tough times in my life, and come through them tougher and stronger than before. Even if I feel like hiding under the covers and never coming out – I will come out, and I will cope with whatever life throws at me. And I’ll be okay.

I would tell the old me to not be afraid of pain. Yes it sucks, and it’s tiring, and you would prefer it not to be there. But it will come and go, and you will learn the best ways to cope with it. You will learn to have a hot bath when you ache all over, or to ice certain joints when they get swollen. You will manage.

I would tell the old me that even though you will hit rock bottom for a little bit, you will climb back up again, and be so damn proud of yourself. And all the little things that you took for granted before, like going on a long walk with your dog, or doing a stupid dance in the lounge room with your partner, will fill you with a joy and appreciation that you have never felt before.

I would tell the old me not to worry too much about the future. Life is uncertain. For everyone. With or without the diagnosis of a chronic disease. The diagnosis will just bring highlight this truth to you for awhile, and that’s not necessarily a bad thing.

I would tell the old me that it won’t be easy – but you will still have a wonderful life. Just one with greater awareness. And more opportunity for growth.

And that in itself is a blessing.

I would definitely give the old me a HUGE hug too!

I would definitely give the old me a HUGE hug too!

About Kim

Registered psychologist, chronic illness warrior / advocate, prolific dog spotter, voracious chocolate devourer and lover of life (but only after 8 - 10 hours sleep!). Passionate about helping people with chronic illness and pain live well.
This entry was posted in Hidden Blessings of Chronic Illness, Musings, Perspective and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Advice for the old me

  1. This is a lovely encouragement to anyone just beginning to journey through an obstacle in life, medical or otherwise. Kudos on your bravery. I love your picture of the monkey! So sweet. Hope you don’t mind if I mention your post in a ping back on my blog.

  2. Pingback: To Laugh Without Fear of the Future – Parchment Cadenza

  3. Claire says:

    Beware snake-oil salesmen. but it’s always so tempting – even the tiniest chance it could work sometimes seems worth the risk (and the huge amounts of money!)

Leave a comment